Eight local farmers set up a co-operative in 1825 with the aim of setting up a legal distillery close to the town of Pitlochry. The central Highlands was a hotbed of illegal distilling during this time, due to the difficulty and remoteness of the location. They combined their resources and purchased some farm buildings. The location they selected was extremely picturesque and this has allowed Edradour to survive, as a succession of owners have consistently decided to maintain and promote the distillery's 'charm'. The original name of the distillery was Glenforres and this was changed to Edradour in 1837. Somehow, Edradour survived numerous tough times when other larger distilleries have fallen by the wayside. In 1922, the distillery was taken over by giant Glasgow blending company, William Whiteley and Co. They changed the name back to Glenforres and used the whiskey produced there in some of their premium blends. Campbell Distillers, who were later to become a part of the Pernod Ricard group, took over in 1982. They saw the potential for marketing the distillery due to its size, setting and use of traditional distillery methods. It was renamed Edradour and a visitor center was opened later that year. The first ever Edradour single malt whiskey was released as a 10 years old in 1986. The distillery was sold to Andrew Symington of Signatory Vintage, an independent bottling company based in Edinburgh. Signatory introduced much innovation and quickly expanded the range of whiskey available.